When an employee leaves the company before taking the flight they booked on TripActions, this should be considered a 'sunk cost'. However, if the ticket was purchased less than 24 hours prior to termination you can void the ticket without any penalties from the airline.
Do note the following:
- The ticket is always attached to the person's name and can't be transferred to anyone else at your organization.
- The terminated employee can still take this flight for whatever reason unless you cancel it with our support team.
- The terminated employee could pay the change fee (typically $200) and then use whatever remaining funds that might exist to apply to another ticket in their name.
Here's how to cancel the flight:
- Go to the "Itineraries" section.
- Search for the traveler's name in upcoming trips and find their specific trip that should be canceled.
- Click on Support and copy the Booking ID.
- Contact support via chat, email, or phone and share the flight's booking ID and confirm that it should be canceled.